The building where I work is about 60 years old, in the scheme of things, not in bad shape, but definitely outdated.  Let’s face it shelves are extremely expensive!!! Here are a couple pictures.

I’m blessed with a large space (these pictures don’t showcase it)!! The circulation desk has a ton of great features! My least favorite part is the old shelves.  So my current thought, #MacGyverLibrarianship style, is to attempt a small reno with some paint.  From the other blogs I’ve read a lot of spaces have had great success with this.

I’m in the baby stages of this idea and I’m looking for some input.  My current idea is (over the summer) to spray paint the metal pieces of the shelves black, and on the edge possibly add a strip of color to help the students identify what section of the library they are in.

So have you used spray paint on metal bookshelves? If successfully yes, what brand? Do you have to use a primer and finish to keep the paint from coming off on the books?? Did it take multiple layers?  Or maybe you successfully spray painted or painted a metal book cart?? Share with me your secrets! (Please! Feel free to comment or e-mail me your experiences!)

This idea may never come to pass, I still have to get permission and I’ll talk to staff and some students to get further input.  Yet, I’ve decided for an update you have to start somewhere. So I’m beginning the research process to see what might be truly possible.

Sidenote: The books on display are highlighting the February challenge I’ve extended to the students to read without walls.  I saw information about it via twitter and found this website.  The challenge was created by ! #ReadingWithoutWalls